top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicholas Cenek

My Experience Playing Academy Soccer

Welcome back! I decided to write my next blog about one of the hardest decisions I have ever made. It was my freshman year of high school when I got the opportunity to play for a top tier soccer team down in St. Louis, Missouri. My choices were simple: Play academy soccer or play for my high school, Dunlap. The only thing was, I couldn't do both.


I often received a lot of criticism for choosing to play academy soccer for St. Louis Football Club. These statements consisted of "You'll never get to experience what high school is all about" or "I will never speak to you again." But for me, it was simple. I wanted to be pushed each day in order to get better.


The drive to training was brutal. It was a 3-hour one-way trip. This meant I had to leave school early just to make it to practice on time. I learned to be organized and complete my assignments even when I wasn't at school. I ate, slept, and did homework on the car ride. Not to mention the drive, getting home past midnight only to go to school the next day was draining. Sometimes, it was physically and mentally exhausting. The good outweighed the bad because I truly felt like I grew as a soccer player and matured as a man.


Although it was hard, I made it work. Playing for this team gave me some of the best experiences of my life. I never would've thought that I would get to travel to Europe to train and play against professional teams. Not a lot of people get to experience the things I have. I consider myself blessed and I am extremely happy I choose to play for this team.













22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page